Puppy Pondering

thehistoryofever_cocker_spaniel_puppy2thehistoryofever_cocker_spaniel_puppy1thehistoryofever_cocker_spaniel_puppy3thehistoryofever_cocker_spaniel_puppy

For the last several weeks, Drew and I have been talking about getting a dog. We both want one so badly. Can’t you just see us as the BEST puppy parents of all time? But, we go back and forth as to whether or not it’s a good idea. I’m so torn! There are some days where I’m picking out names for the little pup (and pretending to call her into the living room–I know, it’s sick). While other days those feelings are replaced by Wait, no. This is a terrible idea. I don’t want to walk a puppy in the snow. I don’t want to make use of those revolting poop bags. 

So, I guess you could say we’re on the fence. At this point, we’re leaning towards waiting a while. As a part of Drew’s MBA program, he’ll have a 10 week ‘internship’ this summer, and there’s a strong possibility it will be in a different city (I’ll still be in our apartment here). As much as I would cherish the company, I think the responsibility of handling a puppy alone would be enough to check me into the mental institution. Sigh. Until we make the leap, I have the vast abyss of google images to tide me over.

Do you have a stance on the puppy front? If you’ve been through this before, I’d LOVE to hear your take. Also, do any of you have cocker spaniels? We’re thinking this will be our first family pup!

images via 1 // 2 // 3 // 4 

This entry was posted in dogs, worrying. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Puppy Pondering

  1. maggienewell says:

    You can always get a rescue dog that is 1-2 years old. My parents dog, Buddy, is the sweetest dog in the world, and they got him when he was about 2. They are SO loving and grateful to have a good home (although I’m pretty sure Buddy wishes he could live with me)

  2. Yes Yes!! Please get one!! :) :)

Leave a Reply

