My New Thing: TeuxDeux

Hello! Sorry I missed yesterday… long-story short I had three too many beers Sunday night. Hello, I was celebrating Bey’s world domination. Didn’t love all the song choices, but I could’ve watched it on mute and still been mesmerized. Sasha FIERCE.

Moving on. I wanted to share with you my new thing. I’ve proudly declared my love for lists more than a few times (ahem, ahem, ahem), and today is another one of those days. A couple of weeks ago, I stumbled upon TeuxDeux, which is a to-do list app that works for browsers and smart phones. If you already knew about this (because it was actually developed one hundred years ago in 2009), stop reading now.

thehistoryofever_teuxdeux

The app was developed by creative blogger extraordinaire, Tina Roth Eisenberg of SwissMiss. She felt there was a gap in the to-do list app market (if there is such a thing). Other apps out there did their job, but had too many features, and Tina was craving the simplicity of a good ole paper and pen list. I GET IT! I have experienced this exact same sentiment when trying other to-do list apps, and have since deleted them because they become just another thing to keep up with.

thehistoryofever_teuxdeux1

TeuxDeux is SO DIFFERENT. First of all, it only shows you five days. This is brilliant, because if it showed me anything more, it would just become a calendar (I use google calendar). The five day format keeps me focused on what I really have to do.

Secondly, it was created by a designer, so it’s really pretty to look at. The white space that I appreciate on a paper list isn’t lost on the computer!

thehistoryofever_teuxdeux2

Thirdly, tasks that aren’t completed at the end of a day are automatically moved to the next day. This is my main reason for being obsessed. For years, I’ve been pressing that little “+” button, creating a new page in my iPhone Notes app. There are so many, I don’t even know what they’re for. Literally, I just looked, and I have a note titled “B”. Means nothing to me. Nevermore! My entire to-do list is artfully contained in this sleek and simple system.

Lastly, I love that you can cross things off. Completed tasks don’t disappear until you want them to (by clicking the little “x” on its respective line). So, I can see everything I’ve gotten done that day–the fountain of joy when it comes to to-do lists, right?

I love this app so much that I would pay for it, but (of course) it’s FREE! To start using it on your computer, just visit this site. I have TeuxDeux set as the homepage of my browser. That way, I can take a couple of minutes to think about the day’s tasks before I get started with my day.

Life-changer, people.

p.s. Thanks for all the Everygirl love last week! Head over today to see some adorable DIYs by Sarah Dickerson of Chic Sprinkles. She is an animal lover, therefore I love her. A true gem.  (Check out her office tour from yesterday!)

This entry was posted in lists. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My New Thing: TeuxDeux

  1. RXP says:

    this is wonderful!!! my biggest pet peeve about the iPhone notes app is that you there’s no way to cross things off, but still see your accomplishments! this is a life changer for sure! thanks for sharing the wealth.

Leave a Reply

