Thoughtfulness: 100 Things

thehistoryofever_thoughtfulness_100things

Happy Friday all! I have been a berry bad blogger this week; sorry about that.  No excuses… was just spending more time at the gym and hanging out with Drew. Truth be told, I typically write these posts the night before they go up. In the last few days, I’ve discovered that two of my favorite bloggers, A Piece of Toast and Elements of Style, both write their posts in the morning. I’m going to challenge my uber-planny self and see how that goes for me.

So, onto today’s thoughtfulness. A few months ago, I was indescribably bored at work, so I actually googled this:

thehistoryofever_whatshouldidowithmylife

I know, dramatic right? I thought maybe I’d stumble upon some Meyers-Briggs quiz. Instead, I found an article titled “Feeling Stuck? 100 Ways to Change Your Life“. The article describes an exercise that you can do to get down to the root of your aspirations (career, personal, or otherwise). Well, I did it, and I found it tremendously eye-opening. I’ll walk you through the steps (adapted from wisebread.com): 

thehistoryofever_100things

1. Find a quiet place, free from all distractions (bedroom is a good place). Make sure to tell anyone you live with that you can’t be disturbed.

2. Grab your notebook or a piece of blank paper and a pen. Set your phone timer for 20 minutes.

3. Write down 100 things you want to do. This can be jobs you want to have, people you want to meet, goals you want to accomplish–anything. Write it ALL. Write down the things you’d never dare tell anyone (nobody has to see this). Write down the things that seem too obvious to include. The point is to write quickly enough that your handwriting is messy–this is a sprint.

4. When 20 minutes is up, put that notebook or piece of paper in a safe place and leave it alone for two days (I waited a week). Don’t even start to go through it and analyze–just put it away.

Here is how the article’s author Nora describes how the process starts to kick-in:

“Something happens after about 10 or 15 minutes if you employ the exercise to its full potential. You stop caring about what specifically the ideas are, and you start to release an inner creativity that may have been locked away for a while. In an effort to get through 100 things in 20 minutes, you start to write outlandish things down that you aren’t even really sure you want, but that are ideas that came to you nonetheless.”

thehistoryofever_innercreativity

When I came back to my list a week later, I was shocked about some of the things I’d written. I’d totally zoned out–which is great! The article reminds you that this should NOT become your giant to-do list (meeting Oprah and Bethenny may not happen for me.. sads). But it SHOULD help you identify some interests, goals, and bucket list items.

For me, I was able to identify that I really want to work on my writing and get it out there. I also want to add an element of service to my life on a regular basis. Those are things I had floating around in the back of my head, but I felt weird making them goals.

I really encourage you to try this out! If anything, I know you have 20 minutes to spare tonight, so why not? You might be surprised to see what surfaces.

HAPPY WEEKEND!

image via

This entry was posted in lists, thoughtfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughtfulness: 100 Things

  1. Pingback: The Everygirl | the history of ever

  2. Cheryl says:

    I am tickled you want to do more writing! You have such a gift, Brianna, and look forward to what is ahead for you……you are an amazing and talented young lady and I just love you.

Leave a Reply

