Currently Reading: Grace

grace-coddington-1975Grace, 1975

By now you’ve surely heard the buzz surrounding Grace Coddington’s new book, Grace: A Memoir. I decided to treat myself to a few Barnes and Noble happies last week, and I’m seriously pleased with this purchase. First of all, the bright orange cover looks perfect on my coffee table. Secondly, it’s one of those reads that has me racing to get in bed after dinner (you’re welcome, Drew)–like can’t put it down.

First model card, 1959Grace, 1959, the model card that put her on Vogue’s radar

I’ve never been a big fashionista… I know my friends are laughing right now. I almost exclusively wear flats. I live in black stretchy pants (they’re pants, not to be confused with leggings). I mean, I know the major designers and the ones that I prefer over others, but I don’t obsess over fashion magazines and drool over runway shows. Just not my thing! BUT, let me tell you… now that I’m halfway through this book, it’s easy to see what makes the industry so alluring. Especially in the glory days of the 60s and 70s.

grace-coddington-vidal-sassoon-haircutGrace, 1965, the famous Vidal Sassoon 5-point cut

Grace’s writing style is frank and honest, and I’m completely fascinated with her life. Famous boyfriends, naked photo shoots, world travels, death, love, and fashion. Oh, and a treasure trove of pictures. Ah!!! It’s so good!

In other words, I highly recommend :) Whatchu reading?

This entry was posted in books, celebrities, fashion. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Currently Reading: Grace

  1. I just added this web site to my rss reader, excellent stuff. Cannot get enough!

Leave a Reply

