I’m a Barracuda

barracuda-bismarck-sea-national-geographic

It’s a well-known fact amongst avid snorkelers and scuba-divers that you should never swim in the ocean wearing anything shiny. In waters inhabited by barracudas, the glimmery surfaces of jewelry and watches appear like silver little fishies, and you could be in danger of a barracuda attack.

WELL, apparently the same rules apply to me. Place any lustrous object in my path, and there’s a high likelihood that I will attack it and buy it.

Don’t believe me? See for yourself… here are some scenes from around the apartment:

janet

Janet

silver-spiky-balls

Silvery spikey poms from Crate and Barrel (no longer on the site)

silver-woven-basket

Straw basket spray painted silver (instructions here)

mercury-glass-bottles

Mercury glass bottles (with new wine cork candles, a Christmas present from mom)

gold-stars-2

More glittery things… Christmas decorations need to go :(

earrings

My favorite earrings

gold-bowl

gold-bowl-2

Starburst Bowl from Crate and Barrel (not intended to be hung on the wall, but I like it)

window-sill-shiny

Windowsill with pillar candle holders from Crate and Barrel

silver-beaded-pillow

Silver beaded pillow from (suprise!) Crate and Barrel…
I had a lot of wedding credit, ok? Only available in this yucky gold now.

mirrored-dresser

mirrored dresser from Horchow
(no longer available, VERY similar here)

nightstand-mirrored

Mirrored night stands from Target

The first step is admitting you have a problem, right? Ok, then. I admit it. I am completely addicted to mercury glass and mirrored furniture and sparkly jewels and GOLD. While these types of items will likely always have a place in my home, I’m going to make a concerted effort to keep my eye out for different textures and materials. New year, new me!

Photograph of barracudas by David Doubilet
This entry was posted in decor, our home. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m a Barracuda

  1. Pingback: Janet Has A Boyfriend | the history of ever

Leave a Reply

