2012 Holiday To Do List Recap

Back in November, I shared the list of all the holiday-ish things I wanted to do before the end of 2012. The idea came out of wanting to make some fun memories, and I had the best time checking things off! Here’s how I did…

1. Purchase and decorate a Christmas tree–DONE! This one was a no-brainer.

christmas-tree

2. Master a pumpkin recipe–DONE! See my post on Pumpkin Icebox Mousse Pie here. (Never mention these countertops to me. #imoverrenting)

icebox-pumpkin-pie

3. Make a snow angel–DONE! On the ten minute walk from the base of the mountain to our condo, I found the perfect little pillow of fluffy snow.

snow-angel-1
snow-angel-2
snow-angel-3

4. Give myself a holiday mani–DONE! (sorta) Ok, so I didn’t paint them myself… but I’m counting it. My list, my rules.

holiday-manicure

5. Start a tradition–DONE! (we think) Remember how I told you that people came over to watch us plug in our tree this year (and we ate pumpkin icebox pie for dessert)? Well, I’m thinking we may make that our annual tradition. I made chicken chili and cornbread, and we sat around the living room, chatting about holiday plans and watching Elf. It was very casual but festive and fun. I am hoping we can do it again this year!

pumpkin-pie-done

6. Start and finish a holiday craft–DONE! See my DIY Christmas wreath here.

wreath-3

7. Host a holiday party–not done :( Unfortunately, I just didn’t get to this  one. With Drew’s final exams and our holiday travel starting on the 15th, there simply wasn’t a good time for the party. BUT I’ll try to make good on this in the next couple of months.

8. Send out Christmas cards–DONE! I ordered the cards from Minted and used one of my favorite wedding photos. This picture makes them look way more “sepia” than they actually are…

cook-christmas-card(Also, do I save my Christmas cards? What do I do with them?)

9. Wrap my own gifts–DONE! Embarrassing that this even had to go on the list, but given my track record, it was necessary. Because of our travel plans, I had to get organized early, which ended up being a good thing!

10. Start a holiday collection–DONE! I found this precious little reindeer while shopping around Steamboat. Why a reindeer collection? We’re animal people, they’re Christmas-ey, and I’d like to be able to say “these are my caribou”. Dasher is very distinguished, no?

reindeer-collection

Nine out of ten. Not gonna lie, I’m patting myself on the back. I can’t say enough how much I loved doing this. I feel like the list helped me to focus on the holidays (like, Hey, it’s Christmastime, I should think about that!) rather than just let them pass me by.

Next up… a Chicago to do list.

This entry was posted in Holiday To Do List 2012, lists. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2012 Holiday To Do List Recap

  1. Pingback: My New Thing: TeauxDeaux | the history of ever

  2. Lisa says:

    Chicago to-do list should include another snow angel. Please teach me your snow angel magic (mine never look like those!).

  3. cheryl says:

    I so enjoy your posts, Brianna….you are such a gifted writer and so dang creative! Keep em coming. Love you

Leave a Reply

