Scenes from a Birthday Weekend

zoo-lights

It was GREAT. Seriously, great. I know birthdays get lamer and lamer as you get older, but I must say, I had one of the best weekends ever.

On Friday, we had dinner at a delicious new small plates restaurant near our apartment (I didn’t take any pictures… someone made a no phones at dinner rule). Then we met up with some friends for drinks, and my friend Lisa even drove up from Chicago to toast with us!

On Saturday, I woke up like a kid on Christmas morning… ready for my sopwise. Guys, I was pretty spot-on with a couple of my guesses. We went to Starbucks (this was Drew’s idea… he loathes Starbucks, so this was a present all on its own). Then we went around the corner to the nail salon (!!!). Drew had made an appointment. It was tres cutie.

Ever the multi-tasker, I decided this was the time for my holiday mani (#4 on my holiday to-do list). I totally ripped this idea off of a friend (she did green with gold) because it’s just too good.

holiday-manicuremy fingers are scary looking and crooked

You better believe Drew got a pedicure. Yes, I threatened to have a birthday-sized fit right there in the middle of the nail salon if he refused. It was glorious. I think he loved it. 

drew-pedicure

Then we came home, and Drew whipped up some waffles and turkey sausage for brunch.

waffles-brunch

Saturday night, we drove down to Chicago to see the Lincoln Park Zoo Lights. It was freezing, but the lights were amazing! We bought some “warm spiced wine” (read: apple juice + cinnamon + thimble’s worth of wine) and visited the giraffes, jungle cats, and apes. As usual, I thought the zoo was really sad. There was a baby gorilla laying on his mommy’s tummy, and I wanted to sucka punch the little kids who were banging on the glass.

zoo-lights-lincoln-park

For dinner, we ate burgers at the bar of a local steakhouse and listened to live jazz music. There was mac and cheese. It was perfect.

Yesterday, I addressed our Christmas cards while Drew sealed and stamped. Finally, #8 can be checked off the list! Seriously it feels so good to have those done.

All in all, it was a wonderful weekend. How was yours?

This entry was posted in birthday, drew, holiday, Holiday To Do List 2012, lists, weekend. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

