Holiday To Do List #2: Master a Pumpkin Recipe

pumpkin-pie

Remember my Holiday To Do List? Well, I’ve been making great big strides as of late, and I wanted to give you the latest update. Number two on the list is DONE, baby! Sort of. I’m pretty sure the word “master” involves several rounds of recipe testing, improving upon the recipe each time. Who has the time for that? My patience could never stand it. (I’m picturing me. Sitting on the floor in my kitchen. Covered in flour. Crying.) Baking is supposed to be fun, people. It’s about licking the mixer paddles, not about fine tuning.

So, instead of drive myself insane, I decided to try a recipe, see how it turned out, and if it sucked, move onto another recipe. Pretty simple right? Even simpler if you get great results on the first round :)

Originally, I was gung-ho for Paula’s Pumpkin Gooey Butter Cakes. But then, I remembered I never, ever, ever work out anymore (ever), and being alone in my apartment with a pan of those started to sound dangerous. Back to the ‘nets I went, searching for the perfect (and healthy, perhaps?) pumpkin recipe.

In stepped Martha and her Pumpkin Icebox Mousse Pie. I think I was mostly turned on by the word “icebox”. It makes this recipe sound all tried-and-true… like it was passed down to Martha by relatives who made it before modern freezers existed. (imma sucker for marketing ploys like this). Also, it reminded me of Little Giants.

pumpkin-pie-ingredients

Confronted with words like butter, cream cheese, and heavy cream, I decided to make a few substitutions. The results were seriously yummyy, and you don’t have to take my word for it–or Drew’s, since he’s obligated to bow and worship me whenever I present a plate. We had an impromptu tree-lighting gathering on Sunday night (literally, people came to watch us plug in the tree), and everyone gobbled it up! WIN!

pumpkin-pie-crust-after

pumpkin-pie-mix-1

pumpkin-pie-freezer

pumpkin-pie-donePeople dug it.

Here’s the recipe (adapted from here):

INGREDIENTS
Crust
-15-18 ginger snaps (I used this gluten free option from my local grocery store. They were actually the size of mini cookies, so use more if your ginger snaps are thin and flat.)
-2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
-5 tablespoons Earth Balance, melted (If you haven’t tried this yet, just do it. You won’t taste a difference.)

Filling
-1 1/2 cup pure pumpkin puree
-4 oz. greek yogurt, room temperature
-1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar
-1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
-1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
-1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
-1/2 cup pure maple syrup
-1 cup Lite Cool Whip (let defrost on the counter for 10 minutes before using)

DIRECTIONS
Crust
Preheat oven to 325 degrees. In a food processor, process ginger snaps and brown sugar until finely ground. With machine running, slowly add butter and process until mixture resembles wet sand. At this point, if your crust looks too liquid-ey, add a few more ginger snaps. Firmly press crumb mixture into bottom and up sides of a 9-inch pie plate. (Note: mine did not reach the top of the pie plate). Bake until crust is dry and set, 10 to 12 minutes. Let cool completely.

Filling (Don’t start this part until your crust is completely cooled.)
In a clean food processor or mixer, process pumpkin puree, greek yogurt, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and pumpkin pie spice until smooth, scraping down sides as needed. With machine running, add maple syrup in a slow, steady stream. With a rubber spatula, gently fold in the Lite Cool Whip to the pumpkin mixture. Spoon filling into crust and refrigerate until set, 3 hours (or up to 1 day).

Move pie from the freezer to the fridge about 20 minutes before serving. Using a sharp knife, slice and serve with a dollop of Lite Cool Whip and a sprinkle of nutmeg. (Just be a bit careful when slicing–the crust is crunchy so it can break if not cut carefully.)

Enjoy! #2 is crossed off the list–BOOM.

This entry was posted in food, holiday, Holiday To Do List 2012, lists. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holiday To Do List #2: Master a Pumpkin Recipe

  1. Pingback: 2012 Holiday To Do List Recap | the history of ever

  2. Laura Davis says:

    This looks awesome!! You can make that at Christmas! I spy Drew’s duck jammies! :)

Leave a Reply

