Happy weekend

I liked this week. It was a nice mix of time with friends, vegging at home, enjoying my job for the first time in a while… all good things! How was your week?

I’m so excited for this weekend to begin. My big brother’s band is going to be in town for a night. We’re taking him to eat some serious Chicago grub here. Brothers are the best! (Except when sisters are.)

Here are a few things that made this week perfection:

getting to experience actual fall weather

picking up funny friends at the market

dunking strawberry marshmallows in.. what else? hot chocolate.

enjoying some tunes in a downtown Chicago parking garage (I was on Tony’s floor)

finishing Diane Keaton’s wonderfully honest memoir. she rules.

I hope you have a happy weekend. Just go ahead and make it the best.

Photo of Diane Keaton by Annie Leibovitz

This entry was posted in books, food, weekend. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy weekend

  1. Rachel says:

    Okay, so THIS is basically how I like to spend my weekends! Pretty weather gazing, endless snacking, sipping on toasty beverages, and curling up with a good book. That hot chocolate looks DIVINE! And memoirs are soooo great. Some of my favorites are Japanland: A Year in Search of Wa (Karen Mueller), Unbearable Lightness (Portia di Rossi), and French Milk (Lucy Knisley). Also, BIOGRAPHIES, like Mistress of the Vatican: The True Story of Olimpia Maidalchini (Eleanor Herman) and Unbroken (Laura Hillenbrand). I’m about to crack open House of Leaves (Mark Z. Danielewski). What are some books that’re on your shelf??

    • briannadcook says:

      OMG thank you for all these recs!! True confessions: I don’t read as much as I should… it’s so bad! In terms of memoirs, I loved The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls–taught me to never take anything I have for granted! I am totally adding your faves to my ‘need-to-read’ list. Next up for me is Gone Girl… needed a little fiction! xoxo

Leave a Reply

